“Abendland”

European Diary, 13.10.2020: Tomorrow evening Micha Brumlik (Berlin) will speak in our program about the new discourse on “Christian-Jewish Occident”. To get into the right mood André Heller will sing his unrhymed chanson about “Occident”.
André Heller’s Jewish father fled from the National Socialists and lived after 1945 mainly in Paris. Thus Heller also grew up with French citizenship before he became a chansonnier in Vienna.
In 1967 he was one of the founders of the pop channel Ö3 and presented the program Musicbox. His political commitment was always a balancing act. As a “Jew living in Vienna,” he criticized Kreisky for his compromising attitude toward old Nazis and anti-Semites, and Israeli policy toward the Palestinians, even though some critics accused him of “promoting” anti-Semitism. André Heller has not challenged such poisonous absurdities. He has remained as politically awake and critical as ever. When he spoke in the Austrian Parliament on 12 March 2018 on the occasion of 80 years of “Anschluss” in the Austrian Parliament, he ended his speech with a look at the new populism of the icy cold that had entered Austrian politics – and has not been overcome to this day.

“Allow me to tell you another strange thing about my life. For decades I thought I was something better than others. Wiser, more talented, more amusing, entitled to pride. I was arrogant, narcissistic, constantly judging others, and it didn’t do me any good until one day I was looking around me in a London Underground car. There were sitting and standing very different people with different skin colors and I heard different languages: In a kind of lightning bolt into my consciousness, I realized that each and every one of these women and men, old and young, hopeful and desperate, is also myself and that German, English, Russian, Chinese, Spanish, Arabic or Swahili is not our real mother tongue, but the world mother tongue is and should be the compassion. It enables us to recognize ourselves in each other and to be intimately and lovingly connected with them and to take this realization into account in all our thoughts and actions.

Late time, twilight
hour that carries hope, sadness and ashes
Take a breath, be lonely
Autumn of thoughts and last refuge for me
Occident, Occident ‘I respect and despise you
Occident!

Occident
Not my tiredness
But the longing for dreams makes me look for sleep
The disturbing possibility of the transformations of my figure
Into other characters and locations
In the Von der Vogelweide
Cervantes, Appollinaire and James Joyce
Children’s crusades, funeral pyres, guillotines, colonies
The infamy, in fornicators on the Holy See
Expeditions to the edge of consciousness
Bankruptcy of good intentions
Congresses of the cynical laughing masters
Marc Aurel’s “Astronomy of contemplation”.
The storm baptisms Vasco da Gamas
Leonardo’s mirror writing
Gaudi’s anarchy of buildings
In Pablo Ruiz Picasso
Who grabbed the wishes by the tail
The Uprising in the Warsaw Ghetto
The Great Progroms of Armenia and Spain
Percival, Hamlet, Woyzeck, Raskolnikov
The flowers of evil
De Sade, Hanswurst and the man without qualities (“Mann ohne Eigenschaften”)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Abendland

Europäisches Tagebuch, 13.10.2020: Morgen Abend spricht Micha Brumlik (Berlin) in unserem Programm über die Rede vom “christlich-jüdischen Abendland”. Zur Einstimmung sing André Heller hier seinen ungereimten Chanson über “Abendland”.
André Hellers jüdischer Vater floh vor den Nationalsozialisten und lebte nach 1945 vor allem in Paris. So wuchs Heller auch mit einer französischen Staatsbürgerschaft auf, bevor er in Wien zum Chansonnier wurde.
1967 gehörte er zu den Begründern des Popsenders Ö3 und moderierte die Sendung Musicbox. Sein  politisches Engagement war immer ein Grenzgang. Als ein “in Wien lebender Jude” kritisierte er Kreisky für seine kompromisslerische Haltung zu alten Nazis und Antisemiten, und die israelische Politik gegenüber den Palästinensern, auch wenn ihm das wiederum von einigen Kritikern den Vorwurf eintrug, er “fördere” Antisemitismus. André Heller haben solche giftigen Absurditäten nicht angefochten. Er ist so politisch wach und kritisch geblieben wie von jeher. Als er am 12. März 2018 im Österreichischen Parlament zum Staatsakt zu 80 Jahre “Anschluss” sprach, beendete er seine Rede mit einem Blick auf den neuen Populismus der Eiseskälte, der in die österreichische Politik eingezogen war – und bis heute nicht überwunden ist.

“Erlauben Sie mir Ihnen noch eine Merkwürdigkeit aus meinem Leben zu erzählen. Ich dachte Jahrzehnte lang, ich wäre etwas Besseres als andere. Klüger, begabter, amüsanter, zum Hochmut berechtigt. Ich war arrogant, selbstverliebt, ständig andere bewertend und es tat mir nicht gut, bis ich eines Tages in einem Wagon der Londoner U-Bahn um mich schaute. Da saßen und standen unterschiedlichste Menschen mit unterschiedlichster Hautfarbe und ich hörte unterschiedlichste Sprachen: In einer Art von Blitzschlag in mein Bewusstsein, erkannte ich, dass jede und jeder von diesen Frauen und Männern, alten und jungen, hoffnungsfrohen und verzweifelten, auch ich selbst bin und nicht Deutsch, Englisch, Russisch, Chinesisch, Spanisch, Arabisch oder Swahili unsere wirkliche Muttersprache ist, sondern die Weltmuttersprache ist und sollte das Mitgefühl sein. Es ermöglicht uns in jedem anderen, uns selbst zu erkennen und mit ihm innigst und liebevoll verbunden zu sein und diese Erkenntnis in weiterer Folge in all unseren Gedanken und Taten zu berücksichtigen.”

Hier zum nachlesen der Text von “Abendland”:

Späte Zeit, Dämmerung
Stunde, die Hoffnung, Trauer und Asche trägt
Atemholen, einsam sein
Herbst der Gedanken und letzte Zuflucht für mich
Abendland, Abendland´ich achte und verachte dich
Abendland!

Abendland
Nicht meine Müdigkeit
Sondern die Sehnsucht nach Träumen lässt mich Schlaf suchen
Die bestürzende Möglichkeit der Verwandlungen meiner Figur
In andere Figuren und Schauplätze
In den Von der Vogelweide
Cervantes, Appollinaire und James Joyce
Kinderkreuzzüge, Scheiterhaufen, Guillotinen, Kolonien
Der Ehrlosigkeit, in Hurenböcke auf Heiligem Stuhl
Expeditionen an den Saum des Bewusstseins
Bankrott der guten Vorsätze
Kongresse der zynischen Lachmeister
Marc Aurels “Astronomie der Besinnung”
Die Sturmtaufen Vasco da Gamas
Leonardos Spiegelschrift
Gaudis Anarchie der Gebäude
In Pablo Ruiz Picasso
Der die Wünsche beim Schwanz packte
Den Aufstand im Warschauer Ghetto
Die großen Progrome Armeniens und Spaniens
Parzival, Hamlet, Woyzeck, Raskolnikow
Die Blumen des Bösen
De Sade, Hanswurst und den Mann ohne Eigenschaften

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.